My Solo Trip to Shimla and Kufri

I have been always passionate about traveling new places. And this time, i added another trip to my list. This one has been special, reason being i travel Solo for the first time in India. So this is how it starts. Working in Gurgaon, does has its negatives, specially if you are living all by yourself. So it was first weekend of May, and as usual scorching hot Gurgaon, was taking its toll on me, and i made this resolution this year to travel new places. Shimla was on my list for a long time, knowing i never visited this place before. So perfect timing i would say and perfect settings for me to explore this new city. So I booked my hotel from “Makemytrip” and Volvo bus from “Red Bus”. Everything was done in a hurry, while sitting in the office late Friday afternoon made this plan to go out, no matter if i was unable to get any company.

I had to catch my bus from Volvo bus from RK Ashram metro station. I reached there in time and was able to board the bus in time. The bus was comfortable and was fully occupied. I got water bottle in the bus, the bus was held at few stops for break and we reached Shimla by 6 am in the morning.

Man, the place had fresh and cold air. After leaving the bus, I quickly wore a thin jumper and Walked all the way to the hotel. The views were breathtaking. Loved it all. Thanks to the google map application. I reached the hotel in time, well too early I would say. 

View of Queen of hills Shimla

View of Queen of hills Shimla while walking towards the hotel


I booked my hotel on MakeMyTrip and the name of the hotel was Hotel Vaikunth on the mall road. The biggest problem of this hotel was that I was unable to find the entry gate to the hotel. Took me 20 minutes or so to find the place. Reason being that the hotel receptionist guys closed the shutter gate. Ones I found it then the reception guy told me that you can only check in after 12pm. Which meant that I had to wait for bloody more then 4 hours or so to get a hotel. I was able to freshen up and leave hotel around 9.30 am to get some breakfast, as to my surprise the breakfast was not included in the hotel booking. I then went to this nice hotel named Hotel Combermere. Where I had hearty breakfast and then I went back to my hotel and then got freshen up and went to see the mall road.
And then after freshening up I asked the reception guy about the places to see in Shimla and what other places I can go to around Shimla. He suggested me that I should go to kufri and temples Jakhu hill. So I booked a local cab and went to these places. First went to Hip Hip hurray adventure theme park. Had awesome zip line and rock climbing experience. Then I left for Narkanda, enjoyed lovely views there and then went to Kufri. 

Leave a Reply

